Skip to content



Cicada were an Auckland based guitar-oriented band.

Since forming in 1992, Cicada have recorded and successfully aired many demos on student radio throughout the country and have amassed considerable live experience, including support slots for touring international acts such as Fugazi and Yage.

Oscillator is Cicada’s debut EP, self-financed and released on Failsafe Records. Four tracks: Winter, Alphajerk, Good, and Sway were recorded on 24 track at the lab in September 1994 and engineered by Chris Van De Geer and produced by Richard Aspden and Cicada. Track five was recorded at York Street Studio in April 1993, engineered by Malcolm Welsford and produced by Jaz Coleman of Killing Joke fame and producer of Shihad’s Churn album.

Reflective of live Cicada performances, a wide variety of sonic technology was utilized in the creation of the Oscillator product including acoustic, electronic, digital, analogue, modern and antiquated equipment with the aim of capturing a broad frequency response and ‘deep’ audal scope.

Oscillator captures well the elusive Cicada ‘sound’ – an invitation to new angles of listening pleasure. A limited edition lathe cut 7″ vinyl featuring Alphajerk and Winter was released by the band to follow the Oscillator EP.

The band recorded and self released a follow up album of material in 1997.

– Rob Mayes


  • Andrew Denton (Guitars)
  • Andrew Spraggon (Vocals/Guitars/Keyboards)
  • John Taylor (Drums/Samples)
  • Kevin Tutt (Bass)


  • Winter 7″ lathe-cut (Mr Banger)
  • Backstab 7″ lathe-cut (Mr Banger)
  • Oscillator EP (1995, Failsafe Records, SAFE037)
  • Soupsonic ()



Leave a Reply