Skip to content

The Raskolnikovs

the raskolnikovs formed in wellington in 2003. members include: airini beautrais (violin), brett moodie (also of the snares on guitar & vocals), dan lucka (bass), justin barr (mink, the users, cherry on drums), and matt steindl )accordion & vocals).
not knowing what to expect, they ended up creating a dark, rock’n’roll / east european folk music hybrid. they released their first ep (accordion crimes) the following year. recorded by menno huibers (the users, knife fight) and released on thernmonsterr label.
in 2005 they released a second ep (h.m.s.fortune) recorded by mike gibson at inca, and self-released. in september 2006 they released their self-titled debut full-length album. recorded in the martinborough town hall by willy ‘boss christ‘ mckay in 2005, the album is released on, and available through, stink magnetic.
the raskolnikovs are currently sleeping at the moment (with the exception of a september 2006 album release tour).


picks in bold

Leave a Reply