Skip to content

Alpaca Brothers


Dunedin based noisy post-punk group formed by Nick Wilkinson and Bruce Blucher in 1984, roping in a young Steve Cournane to sit behind the kit for his very first gig. The next two years were a blur of performances up and down the country. In 1986 the group recorded the Legless EP for Flying Nun Records – with Peter Gutteridge, Norma O’Malley and Ivan Purvis all contributing to the recording. Soon after Paul Cahill joined as a 2nd guitarist, however the band soon split.

Alpaca Brothers – Legless (1986, Flying Nun Records)

They were fast furious guitar [band] with thumping bass, made one EP and had a great song called ‘The Infinite Tick’. Later (Blucher formed) Trash Hotel and were involved in a more theatrical chaos.. Started performing The Trash Hotel at the art gallery … infamous performance and that ended with a suspicious burglary of the art gallery.. no one found to blame.

Later Bruce and (Paul Cahill) wanted to take The Trash Hotel overseas and went to Thailand and bought a bar where they were to form the real “Trash Hotel” although it was short lived as the local prostitutes that wanted to protect their patch forced the boys to leave by gunpoint.

Donald Harman (Wheetbix Boys)

Blucher returned to Dunedin, performing alongside Sandra Bell and in the mid-90’s outfit Cyclops. Wilkinson went way up North into obscurity, whilst Cournane joined The Verlaines, and later the skiffle group the Wheetbix Boys, eventually settling in to make a living as a touring jazz musician (with the likes of C.L. Bob).

In December 2020 The Alpaca Brothers suddenly and unexpectedly resurfaced, recording new material for the first time in a lifetime, with Robert Scott replacing an ill Nick Wilkinson on bass, along with new 2nd guitarist Jason Horner and Bluchers’ daughter Eva on vocals. Finally some 39 years since first forming, The Alpaca Brothers debut LP ‘Figment‘ would finally arrive on Zelle Records in January 2023. During 2023 the newly reformed group played some shows up and down the country, with Mick Elborado taking over bass duties from Robert Scott.




Leave a Reply