Skip to content



Auckland punk group that was active through 1979 till around March 1980.

The 2 songs they recorded that turned up on the scene-defining ‘AK79‘ compilation show some reggae and new-wave influence and reference the boot boys troubles of the times:

Vocalist Karel Van Bergen would join The Features in July 1979 with Cliff Gravelle (who who later front Penknife Glides) taking over as front-man.

Dave Bebb passed away in Auckland in September 2009.

In 2012 Gravelle put together a retrospective release of the groups songs as ‘Durham Lane’ (named after the street that housed the famous scene-defining Zwines nightclub.


  • Karel Van Bergen (Band Of Holy Joy, The Features, SPK, vocals)
  • Clifford Gravelle (Penknife Glides, guitar / vocals)
  • Chris Molloy (bass)
  • Dave Bebb (drums)
  • Jules Moloney (bass)
  • Miriam Ludbrook (keyboards / vocals)


  • Durham Lane (2011, Cliffhanger Productions)


Leave a Reply