Skip to content

Breathing Cage


Something of a dark horse in the New Zealand rock canon, Breathing Cage reads like a super group of New Zealand musicians (vocals by Jay Clarkson, guitar by Greg Malcolm, drums by Gary Sullivan and bass by Michael Kime) and actually went on to win the (then coveted) Rheineck rock awards.

Unfortunately things didn’t pan out when it came to spending the prize (which was a studio recording package) – they went way over budget, the studio foreclosed on their recordings, they couldn’t get a record label to pay for the excess, and the album went unreleased for many years (though eventually resurfaced on Flying Nun Records to very little backing).


  • Jay Clarkson (Vocals)
  • Greg Malcolm (Guitar)
  • Gary Sullivan (Drums)
  • Michael Kime (Bass)


  • You and Me and the Old Hill Cassingle (1991, as Jay Clarkson Breathing Cage, Flying Nun Records Records, FN135)
  • Misericord (1991 as Jay Clarkson Breathing Cage, Tall Poppy L30589)
  • Split Milk (2006, Failsafe Records, SAFE078)


Leave a Reply