Skip to content

Backyard Burial


Lower Hutt death-metal / grind-core with a handful of self-produced recordings and some international support slots under their belt since forming in the late 1990’s (after a myriad of lineup changes).

The group released the track ‘Bone Collector’ on the absolutely bonkers ‘Stop the Bypass’ compilation of random Wellington acts – a fundraiser aiming trying to prevent a highway bypass that was constructed through Te Aro Valley in Wellington in 2005.

The group would continue through the 00’s, producing a fairly large catalog of self-released albums and EP’s (including a split release well-known Auckland act Malevolence) – despite having trouble holding on to bass players.

Tragically, 35-yr old vocalist Matthew Hall died in January 2011 as a result of a ferocious attack while in bed at his Johnsonville flat – the victim of multiple stab wounds.

Things took a dramatic turn during the investigation of Hall’s murder – Petone man Timothy Parlane (a former bassist with another Metal Group – Wellington Thrash group Bulletbelt) supposedly confessed to Halls murder, but was subsequently hit and killed by a train mere hours after talking to investigators of the Hall case.


February 2011: Matthew Hall is found stabbed to death in his bed in Johnsonville, Wellington.

March 2011: Lower Hutt man Timothy Parlane is interviewed by police in connection with Mr Hall’s death and released soon after. Hours later he is hit by a train. An IPCA investigation is started.

April 2011: The Dominion Post reveals Mr Parlane confessed to a woman he was dating that he had murdered Mr Hall.

August 2012: The IPCA investigation into police conduct before Mr Parlane’s death is completed, but it decides not to publish its findings.

December 2012: The police file is passed on to the Wellington coroner.

The Dominion Post


  • Mike Flannigan (Drums, 1998 – 2011)
  • Dave (Guitar, 1998)
  • Ryan O’Leary (Bass/Guitar, 1998 – 2011)
  • Matthew Hall (Vocals, 1998 – 2005)
  • Nathan Holmes (Bass/Guitar, 1999 – 2002)
  • Aiden McDonald (Bass, 1999 – 2002)
  • Greg Bassett (Bass, 2002)
  • Mark Davey (Guitar, 2002 – 2005)
  • Jason Hislop (Bass, 2002 – 2007)
  • Alex Beere (Guitar, 2005 – 2008)
  • George Prowse (Bass, 2008 – 2011)


  • Deviance in Society (1999, self-released)
  • The $2 PE EP (2001, self-released)
  • Repeat Offender (2002, self-released)
  • Hedonistic cravings (2005, self-released)
  • A Promising Young Student EP (2007, self-released)
  • Grinding Aotearoa split EP (w/ Malevolence 2008, self-released)
  • Symptoms of Psychopathology (2009, self-released)



Leave a Reply