w artists


Former Rip It Pp editor Murray Cammick formed Wildside in 1991, releasing material from Wellington acts Freak Power, Second Child and Rumblefish, but didn’t really become the icon of Wellington hard rock it was in the mid 90s until both Head Like A Hole and Shihad (who later changed their name to Pacifier then reverted back again) released their Wildside debuts.

With 2 of the biggest names in New Zealand rock under their belts (not to mention the likes of the Dead Flowers, and Christchurch act Pumpkinhead), Wildside cruised through the 90s, with album after album of high-quality hard rock.

Compilation Discography
Picks In Bold

  • Raw 1 [1995]
  • The Best Of Wildside [2002]

Contact Details

  • Wildside Email [Contact Email]
  • Wildside Records
  • Po Box 7012
  • Wellesley St
  • Auckland
  • New Zealand [Postal Address]
f artists

Freak Power

paul snake, shirley charles, mark jones, jules barnett and the ever-popular lance strickland. not the one-hit wonder u.k. band.
picks in bold

  • sleazed 10″ ep [1991 wildside L20096]
o artists

The Osterbergs


East-Auckland garage-rock fanatics (and followers of the might Ig) The Osterbergs consisted of Paul E. Snake, Lance Strickland, Mark Jones and Shirley Charles by the time of the only release.

According to the liner notes “With the successful implantation of Jules on the bass guitar the Osterbergs have mutated into a five headed beast called ‘Freak Power'”.

Cover for Freak Power (from Switched Out)

The group also contributed a track Loaded Tapes ‘Unloaded’ compilation in 1989, alongside Chainsaw Masochists, S.P.U.D. etc.


  • Lorna (Drums, 198?)
  • Mac Quitz (Guitar, 198?)
  • Paul E. Snake (Bass / Vocals, 198? – 199?)
  • Lance Strickland (Guitar, 198? – 199?)
  • Mark Jones (Guitar, 198? – 199?)
  • Shirley Charles (Drums, 198? – 199?)


  • Freak Power (1990 Onslaught Records)