Weetbix Boys

Dunedin-based skiffle group featuring Simon Vare, Steve Cournane (Alpaca Brothers, C.L. Bob Etc), Andy Scott (Electric Blood) and Richard Morris. Andy Scott left the band in 1989, replaced behind the kit by Donald Harman.

The band toured the North Island, and supported the likes of the proclaimers and the Violent Femmes. Their sole release was their contribution to the 4-band Out Of The Yellow-Eye compilation put together by Yellow-Eye founders Vare and Cournane to document the sounds of Dunedin.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Out Of The Yellow-Eye [1991 W/ My Deviant Daughter, Funhouse, Cynthia Should Yellow-Eye Eye001]



Daniel ‘EE Monk’ Powell (Guitars and Vocals) and Bryce ‘Mr. Pudding‘ Galloway (Beats, Toys and Vocals), with sometimes contributions from Graham Agnew. Quirky and prolific out with a swagger of independently produced and released albums. Their latest release Pan) features EE Monk and Mr. Pudding recording an album of tracks each in mono, with the results tied together (EE Monk on the left, Mr. Ppudding on the right) meaning its a confusing listen, the listener invited to Pan between the channels.

Wendyhouse started life as an art-installation back in 1992. this was at soundwatch, artspace, auckland, new zealand. at this stage wendyhouse was a 3-piece which only used toy musical instruments. a year later wendyhouse began to embrace the rock venue as more egalitarian than the uptight environs of the art gallery. in 1995 after self-releasing several cassettes and a debut cd, core-member ee monk left new zealand to live in europe for three years. this marked the start of the groups forays into postal recording (the love quadrangle ’97), eventually leading to experiments in blind/chance recording (wendyheads ’00): these are recordings involving four contributors who respond to a title without listening to each others’ contributions.
– Taken From Petra Jane‘s Fine Antirock Listings

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Santas Lament Lathe-Cut 7″ [Wiggly Tapes]

  • 2032ad Cassette Mini-Album [1992 Wiggly Tapes]

  • Cruising Cassette Ep [1993 Wiggly Tapes]

  • Xanadu Cassette Mini-Album [1994 Wiggly Tapes]

  • Hot Action Plastic Ep [W/ Mr Snakes 1994 Wiggly Tapes / Fridge Records Frwt001]

  • Dead Man’S Shoes Cassette [1995 Wiggly Tapes]

  • Live From The Pillow [1999 Wiggly Tapes]

  • Utopia Metopia Ep [2000 With 10 Extra Tracks From Wendyheads Wiggley Tapes Wt/Cd003]

  • Pan [2004]



Aaron Tokona, Gabriel Atkinson, Clinton Den Heyer and Clinton Tokona – Wellington band that split almost immediately after the release of their thoroughly acclaimed 2000 debut.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Natural Compression Ep [1999 Warner]
  • Geographica [2000 Warner 8573839332]

Awards Etc
Rianz Awards 1999


Obscure (and terribly named) group who put out an EP on the Ode label in 1986.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Barricades EP [1986 Ode Sodep259]


Wasp Factory

3 piece pop-punk band out of Gisborne featuring Martin Kirk, Mark Revington and Jason Fawcett. A couple of releases on the tiny F Star label, along with an appearance on the Positive Vibrations compilation on Pagan, showing influence from american punk pop like Husker Du, Dead Kennedys, Cramps etc.

I left the Flaming Stars to form the Wasp Factory With Mark Revington (Bass) and Jason Fawcett (Drums). We released an eponymous album in 1986 (FS002) and a 4-track EP, ‘Hick-Hate’ in February 1987 (FS003). The tracks on the album were ‘Eric’s Song’, ‘TV Scream’, ‘Australia’, ‘Dream’, ‘I Won’t Be There’, ‘Watch Your Back’, ‘Sunday Room’, ‘Work’, ‘Crimes Of Passion’ And ‘Age Away’.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Wasp Factory [1986 F Star FS002]
  • Hick Hate EP [1987 F Star FS003]


The Wastrels


Peter Cooke, Anton Jenner, Johnny Brinson and Richard Hlavac. A short lived 4 piece who had an ep and an appearance on Pagan’s Kiwifruit Salad compilation under their belts before disappearing in 1984.

Anton Jenner was also in the Solatudes and the group regularly played alongside the Dance Exponents.

After winning a local band competition in 1982 the group recorded ‘The Jenner Affair’:

A TVNZ Shazam televised concert in May 1984 (with The Mockers, The Body Electric and Netherworld Dancing Toys) promised bigger things but momentum was finally lost when guitarist Peter Cooke fractured two fingers when an amplifier fell on him.

Audio Culture profile on The Wastrels


  • Peter Cooke (Guitar/Vocals, 1982 – 1984)
  • Anton Jenner (Vocals, 1982 – 1984)
  • Johnny Brinson (Bass, 1982 – 1984)
  • Richard Hlavac (Drums, 1982 – 1984)


  • The Jenner Affair Ep [1983 Hit Singles Hitm010]


Sonya Waters

Sonya first appeared with an EP under her own name way back in 1983 on Ripper records, but then disappeared before resurfacing in the 00s with former Superette‘r Ben Howe in Fang.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • No Pain 12″ EP [1983 Ripper Rpr006]

Awards Etc

Rianz Awards 1983

  • Most Promising Female Vocalist Of The Year Sonya Waters


Ways Of God To Man

Discography (picks in bold)

  • The Ways Of God To Man Cd-R [2004 Root Don Lonie For Cash Rdl111]


John White

As the distinctive voice of Mestar, John White has become quite a well known figure in new zealand music, particularly in his home-town of dunedin, where mestar first formed, and where Cloudboy have become such a loved troup.

John toured with Demarnia Lloyd‘s excellent avant-pop outfit Cloudboy during their european tear to coincide with the release of the excellent Down At The End Of The Garden album, releasing his first solo album along the line.

A breezy mixture of low-key lullaby’s based around John’s delicate, almost child-like voice, accompanied by gentle acoustic guitar, plus a similar palette of instrumentation to the excellent Cloudboy debut; the albums 2nd half that veers towards droney string-section experiments – quite a dramatic change. In 2006 Jody Lloyd’s She’ll Be Right records reissued White’s excellent debut. In 2011 White resurfaced in Dunedin with new group The Blueness.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Balloon Adventure Cd-R [2002 Self-Released]
  • Mogwash [2004 Self-Released]
  • Balloon Adventure Reissue [2006 She’ll Be Right]


Whizz Kids

Westlake Boys High Boys Tim Mahon and Mark Bell were North-Shore punks back in 1978, initially as part of the ‘Avant-Punk-Theatre’ act the Plague.

[The Plague’s] major claim to fame came with their naked live performance (albeit covered in paint) at the 1979 Nambassa Rock Festival in front of 30,000 confused hippies
– Simon Grigg

Eventually the musically inclined trio in the Plague – namely Mahon, Bell and Ian Gilroy, ended up splitting to concentrate on the music side of things, and released a split single (with the Spelling Mistakes) as The Whizz Kids. Fairly soon Gilroy left to join the Swingers, so Don McGlashan was drafted in as their new drummer, with the band redubbed Blam Blam Blam.

Discography (picks in bold)