m artists

The McGoohans


Christchurch-based punky proto-grunge outfit that formed after the dissolution of Ian Blenkinsop’s Drowning Is Easy, a 4-piece that featured Blenkinsop along with future Scorched Earth Policy band-mate Mick Elborado, Craig Davison and Andrew Valance.

Blenkinsop formed the first line-up of the McGoohans with Davison resuming his drumming role and George Churton replacing Mick on bass in 1983 – though Davison was later replaced by Churtons’ brother Darren (essentially forming the original incarnation of the Soundbites line-up), and then Norman Dufty (later of the Puddle) in 1984.

By late 1984 Susan Heney had joined the band as bassist (leaving both Ian and George to concentrate on guitar), and the band recorded and released an EP and album on Campbell McLays’ Onset/Offset label. though the band had soon faded away, Churton later resurfaced as an author of several seminal accounts on the New Zealand underground scene, particularly notable is his excellent history of New Zealand punk ‘Have You Checked The Children?’.


  • Ian Blenkinsop (Guitar/Vocals/Bass/Harmonica, 1983 – 1985)
  • Craig Davison (Drums, 1983 – 1985)
  • George Churton (Bass/Guitar/Piano/Vocals, 1983 – 1985)
  • Mick Elborado (Backing Vocals, 1984)
  • Darren Churton (Drums, 1983 – 1984)
  • Norman Dufty (Drums, 1984 – 1985)
  • Susan Heney (Bass/Backing Vocals, 1984 – 1985)


  • The McGoohan Touch [1985, Onset/Offset, PRA2312]
  • Ultra-Violet 7″ EP [1985, Onset/Offset]