w artists

White Saucer

Improv-heavy duo Stella Corkery (Sweetcakes, Queen Meanie Puss) and Alan Holt making a variety of different noises in all sorts of directions. Featuring Corkery’s drumming, plus guitar and electronics, many of the duo’s releases so far have been odes (so far to Sun Ra, Christchurch film-maker Paul Jones and the legendary Billy TK), all captured by the upstart Pink Air label.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • White Saucer Triple 8″ Lathe-Cut [Crawlspace]
  • ‘Phoenix’/’Give It Up’ Lathe-Cut 7″ [Pink Air Pink Air002]
  • ‘Built To Die’/’Fire On Your Horizon’ 8″ Lathe-Cut Single [Pink Air Pink Air003]
  • White Saucer 3″ Cd-R [Pink Air Pink Air013]
  • White Saucer W/ Lovely Midget + Guy Cassette [W/ Lovely Midget / Guy Freedom From Ff0136]


a artists



Dark Xpressway post-punk outfit featuring Rachel Shearer (Lovely Midget), Michael Morley (The Dead C, Wreck Small Speakers on Expensive Stereos), Stella Corkery and Deborah Hinden.

Pretty much in the same vein (and influenced by) other port-chalmers based bands of the era.

Eventually Angelheads’ Shearer, Hinden and Corkery took on board Flak / Teeth guitarist Dienke Jansen and rechristened the band Queen Meanie Puss.


  • Rachel Shearer (Guitar/Bass/Vocals, 1990 – 1991)
  • Michael Morley (Guitar/Vocals, 1990 – 1991)
  • Stella Corkery (Drums, 1990 – 1991)
  • Deborah Hinden (Bass/Guitar/Vocals, 1990 – 1991)




q artists

Queen Meanie Puss


Punky all-girl outfit from the early 90’s who evolved out of the similar Angelhead, and put out a couple of quirky EPs before fragmenting.

Rachel Shearer now releases material as Lovely Midget.


  • Debbie Hinden (Bass/Vocals, 1991 – 1992)
  • Stella Corkery (Drums, 1991 – 1992)
  • Dieneke Jansen (Guitar/Vocals, 1991 – 1992)
  • Rachel Shearer (Guitar/Vocals, 1991 – 1992)


  • The Beauty of Dogs 7″ EP (1991, Flying Nun Records, FN215)
  • The Darkling EP (1992, Siltbreeze, SB015)



l artists

Lovely Midget

rachel shearer (formerly of angelhead and queen meanie puss) started recording as lovely midget as of 1995 with a self-titled 10″ release. an unusual album featuring heavy noise quota (vocals, organ and guitar kind of float in and out of a generally pretty damned lo-fi mix. a leisurely approach to writing and recording saw lovely midget return the best part of a decade later with north head – which saw a fair bit of positive underground press.
picks in bold

  • 1995 lovely midget white 8″ lathe-cut [self-released]
  • sings the lost chord lathe-cut 7″ ep [self-released]
  • ‘voiceless’/’planet caravan’/’waxy digit’ lathe-cut 7″single [ping air 009]
  • lovely midget 10″ [1995 Ecstatic Peace]
  • lovely midget CD [1995 corpus hermeticum HERMES033]
  • lovely midget 7″ single[pink air pink air009] rn
  • north head [2003 family vineyard FV24]
  • Fakerie DVD [2007 Family Vineyard]