r artists


Aka Andrew Moon, the head of Imperial Recordings and ex-drummer for Flying Nun legends Goblin Mix. Moon worked with RSW London in the late 80s, forming Celine, but its been in RST that Moon (now as a solo musician) has found his sound as a guitarist.

Second full-length offering from this nz master of squeal ‘n sheen guitar textures. Guaranteed to pin your head to the floor with calm, carefully abraded and composed blocks of unrelenting noise. Confounds the armchair cynics who claim the guitar is devoid of meaning, in RST’s hands it is reclaimed and made to do new work creating thermal pools for your mind.
– Bruce Russell on the ‘Warm Places’ release

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Event Horizon 12″ Lathe-Cut [1995 Imperial Recordings]

  • Acceleration Stations Lathe-Cut 10″ [1995 Imperial Recordings]

  • ‘Retrograde’/’Retrograde Motion’ Lathe-Cut 8″ [Imperial Recordings]

  • ‘Voltage’/’Garden’ Lathe-Cut 8″ [Blue Silver Records]

  • ‘Containment’/’The Problem’ Lathe-Cut 7″ [Imperial]

  • R136a [1996? Ecstatic Peace E#89]

  • Warm Planes [1998 Corpus Hermeticum Hermes032]


t artists


Dean Roberts, Dion Workman and Paul Douglas.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Thela Triple 8″ Lathe-Cut [1995 Ecstatic Peace E#53]
  • Argetina 8″ Lathe-Cut [1996 Ecstatic Peace E#88]


a artists

The Aesthetics


Energetic screaming, rugged rhythms and a sloppy swagger that suits anyone looking for a glaring upheaval of standard musical thoroughfare…” “…equivalent to a hyperactive Daniel Johnston recklessly exorcising himself of inner demons with the help of the finest extra-lo-fi equipment.

– Andrew Magilow; Splendid Magazine

‘Destructo-rock’ outfit extraordinaire. Originally formed in Dunedin by Matt Middleton (aka Crude), Rustle Covini and j-Mz Robinson in 1995 in a purely punk flavor, after a few successful parties and the odd gig, j-Mz was replaced by Shaun Jury – the line-up that released the debut ‘My Right to Riches’ LP.

Crude’s Matt Middleton has erupted from the shackles of noise to stomp the grounds of sonic punkdom. Following his forefathers in bands like The Pin Group, Henchmen, and La De Da’s, monsieur Middleton has carved a new sound.

– Forced Exposure

By 1997 Stefan Neville (Pumice / The Futurians) had replaced Covini, but then left in 1998 – off to Auckland, along with Shaun. Pat Kraus (drums) and Fyfe (bass) made up the numbers for the rest of the bands career, eventually releasing the ‘Off’ LP before splitting in 2001.


  • Matt Middleton (Guitar/Vocals/Keyboards/Saxophone/Drums, 1995 -)
  • Rustle Covini (Drums)
  • James Robinson (Bass)
  • Shaun Jury (Bass/Guitar
  • Stefan Neville (Drums)
  • Pat Kraus (Drums)
  • Fyfe (Electronics)
  • Jason Barrett (Bass/Saxophone)
  • Edie Stevens (Bass)
  • Lynton Denovan (Drums)
  • Malcolm Deans (Drums)


  • College Rock Cassette (1997, Dirtlove Records)
  • I Just Don’t Get It 7″ Lathe (1997, Dirtlove)
  • Dunedin Punks 7 Cassette (1997, A Stabbies And The Rocket Recording)
  • Doomtown Fuzz Lathe-Cut 7″ (1997, Dirtlove)
  • My Right To Ritches LP (1999, Ecstatic Peace!, E#4b)
  • Split Ep Lathe-Cut 7″ (W/ The Ho Dogs, Dirtlove)
  • Secrets Of Japanese Nationalism Double 8″ Lathe-Cut (Crawlspace / Dirtlove)
  • Crown Sat Nov 11 Cassette (W/ Murdering Monsters 2001, Slag Strut Records)
  • Off (2001, Mental Telemetry, Tele003)
  • Ugly Ambition (2009, Artless Intent, AI006)
  • Dusk Husk 7″ Lathe (2010, Epic Sweep, ES002)
  • Live at the Crown Cassette (2011, Epic Sweep, ES011)