e artists

8 Living Legs

Short lived flying nun band who contributed a brilliant track to the last rhumba compilation (a live single-night recording on flying nun), and split an ep with flak in 1984. In 2005 the failsafe label released ‘false sense of security’ and ‘five yards ahead’ (a live recording) – two new albums compiling lost material from the eight living legs back catelogue (as part of their ‘retrogenic’ series).

picks in bold

  • emigration 12″ split ep [1984 w/ flak flying nunFLEG001]
  • false sense of security [2005 failsafe065CD]
  • five yards ahead
Record Labels

Failsafe Records


Rob Mayes’ mighty Failsafe Records, a committed independent label that is as part of Christchurch as a warm Nor-Wester.

The original home of many Christchurch bands who went on to big things, as well as a great many undiscovered gems who didn’t – as well as being a great resource for those bands who saw their material ignored on higher profile labels (see the ‘Biding Our Time‘ compilation).

Their ‘Avalanche‘ compilation (named after Mayes’ recording studio) is a classic, and a firm snapshot of quality Christchurch pop.

In 2004 and into 2005 Mayes formulated a series of reissues, archival compilations, live recording released as the ‘Retrogenic’ series, compiling unreleased music from the likes of 8 Living Legs, Children’s Hour, YFC and a huge catalog of Pop Mechanix material.

Around this time the Electrode off-shoot electronic label was also brought about with the release of the ‘Do Robots Dream of Electric Sheep‘ compilation.

Compilation Discography

  • Accident Cassette (1984, 002)
  • Biding Out Time Cassette (1986, 006)
  • South Cassette (1987, 007)
  • Keepin’ Secrets (2005, 079CD)
  • Accident Reissue (2005, 002CD)
  • Biding Out Time Reissue (2005, 006CD)
  • South Reissue (2005, 007CD)
  • Do Robots Dream Of Electric Sheep (Released On The Electrode Imprint 2005, ELEC001)
  • Keepin’ Secrets (2005, 079CD)

Contact Details



f artists



Early Flying Nun band who’s sole (commercial) release was a split EP with 8 Living Legs that had major production issues (the Australian printing press accidentally dropped the first song! – as documented in Matthew Bannisters’ Positively George Street).

Flak also released a cassette on Paul Lurkers Industrial Tapes home-taping label. The duo of Jansen and Webster (who had previously been in North Shore group The Bombers) moved to Amsterdam and formed If.

Jansen eventually resurfaced in Teeth and Queen Meanie Puss.


  • Dieneke Jansen (Guitar/Vocals, 1983 – 1984)
  • Mark Webster (Bass/Vocals, 1983 – 1984)
  • Larry de Zoete (Drums, 1983 – 1984)


  • Emigration EP (1983 w/ 8 Living Legs, Flying Nun Records, FLEG001)
  • Monitor Cassette (1983, Industrial Tapes, IND006)