l artists

Lawrence Arabia

The one-man band that is James Milne – with eclectic and more fractured recordings than his material in the Reduction Agents (or for that matter former band the Brunettes). Milne is a charming story-teller, heavy on the whimsy and clever lines, low on the pretense – his live shows are something to behold and his recordings are just as fantastic.

After an oddball and poppy self-titled debut album, Milne’s 2009 follow-up ‘Chant Darling’ was an even bigger success The single ‘Apple Pie Bed’ (which he wrote and performed with the Phoenix Foundation’s Luka Buda) picked up the 2009 APRA Silver Scroll song-writers award, and exposed his songs to a wider audience.

2012 looks to be a busy year as Lawrence Arabia prepare to release ‘The Sparrow’ in July, and Milne is also busy acting and performing for the intriguing short-film ‘Uncle Bertie’s Botanarium’ (which is currently coming to the end of a PledgeMe funding drive – check out the details here).

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Lawrence Arabia [2006 Lil Chief  / Honorary Bedouin Records Lcr015 / Hbd002]
  • Chant Darling [2009 Honorary Bedouin Records Hbd003]
  • The Sparrow [2012 Bella Union]

APRA Silver Scroll 2009

  • Lawrence Arabia – Apple Pie Bed

Taite Music Prize 2010

  • Lawrence Arabia – Chant Darling


n artists

Nesian Mystik

Auckland Pop-Outfit With R’N’B, Reggae And Hip-Hop Overtones And A Thoroughly Laid-Back, Grandma Friendly Style. Nesian Mystik Will Forever Be Known (Along With Elemeno P) For Their Overwhelming Ties To Coca-Cola, Not To Mention The Massive Over-Exposure That Led To. A Young, Family-Values Prientated 5-Piece Of Donald Mcnulty, Awanui Reeder, Junior Rikiau, David Atai And Feleti Strickson-Pua, The Group Hit The Lime-Light In 2002 With Their Hit Nesian Style And Eventual Follow-Up For The People, Which Went On To Win An Apra Silver Scroll For Their Efforts In 2003.

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Polysaturated [2002 Bounce99292]

  • Brothaz Cd Single [2003 Bounce 99683]

Awards Etc
Apra Awards 2003

  • Silver Scroll Nesian Mystik: ‘For The People’