rob mayes’ mighty failsafe records, a committed independent label that is as part of christchurch as a warm nor-wester. the original home of many christchurch bands who went on to big things, as well as a great many undiscovered gems who didn’t – as well as being a great resource for those bands who saw their material ignored on higher profile labels (see the biding our time compilation). their avalanche compilation is a classic, and a firm snapshot of quality christchurch pop.
in 2004 and into 2005 mayes formulated a series of reissues, archival compilations, live recording releaseed as the ‘retrogenic’ series, compiling unreleased music from the likes of eight living legs, children’s hour, yfc and a huge catelogue of pop mechanix material. ariund this time the electrode off-shoot electronic label was also brought about with the release of the ‘do robots dream of electric sheep’ compilation.

compilation discography
picks in bold

  • accident cassette [1984 002]
  • biding out time cassette [1986 006]
  • south cassette [1987 007]
  • keepin’ secrets [2005 079CD]
  • accident reissue [2005 002CD]
  • biding out time reissue [2005 006CD]
  • south reissue [2005 007CD]
  • do robots dream of electric sheep [released on the electrode imprint 2005 ELEC001]
  • keepin’ secrets [2005 079CD]

contact details
if available

  • failsafe email[email contact]
  • failsafe recordsrn
  • po box 3003rn
  • christchurchrn
  • new zealand [postal address]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *