8 Foot Sativa

Hugely popular West Auckland metal act that managed to come very close to topping the new zealand album charts with their 2nd album Season For Assault, and have continued to rise in profile since their debut Hate Made Me, securing a premier spot at 2002’s annual Big Day Out event, and upstaging many touring metal acts (such as Pantera and Disturbed) with their own popularity. The band is comprised of Sam (Drums), Brent (Bass), Justin (Vocals) and Gary (Guitar) and have recently signed with Black Mark Records for international distribution.

Discography (picks in bold)


8 Dec

Short-lived Wellington lathe-cut label associated with Fever Hospital and Paul Solly.

Contact Details
if available

  • 8 Dec website [Official Website]
  • 8 Dec email [Contact Email]
  • 8 Dec Records
  • 23 Huanui Street
  • Porirua
  • New Zealand [Postal Address]

8 living legs

Short lived flying nun band who contributed a brilliant track to the last rhumba compilation (a live single-night recording on flying nun), and split an ep with flak in 1984. In 2005 the failsafe label released ‘false sense of security’ and ‘five yards ahead’ (a live recording) – two new albums compiling lost material from the eight living legs back catelogue (as part of their ‘retrogenic’ series).

picks in bold

  • emigration 12″ split ep [1984 w/ flak flying nunFLEG001]
  • false sense of security [2005 failsafe065CD]
  • five yards ahead


chris and shayne mason, ljinon mihell and brett frazer. put out an ep on new future (with the lovely title of ‘radio w.a.n.k.’) that seems to pop up everywhere.


picks in bold

  • radio w.a.n.k. [new future NOUVEAU001]


earwig is an auckland based recording studio which offers competitive rates (currently around $50-60 per hour), for a genuine 24-track environment. the earwig label was established as a sideline to release material by several of earwig’s many bands – with a current roster including alpha plan and figure 60, plus a variety of low-profile one-off releases.

contact details

if available

  • earwig website[official website]
  • 8dec email [contact email]
  • +64 (09) 480 2219 [contact phone]
  • +64 (09) 480 2234 [contact fax]
  • earwig
  • p.o. box 34705
  • birkenhead
  • auckland
  • new zealand [postal address]


one of the early wildside outfits, a hard-rock 3-piece from wellington comrpsied of king ad b, malcolm mezweski and juan v.
picks in bold

  • rock your radio 12″ ep [1991 wildside X14960]
  • intergalactic cd single [1993 wildside]
  • cerebral implosion [1993 wildside 30789]
  • get on up cd single [1994 wildside]

en can ma [profile by rob mayes]

a very strange band but also strangely good from 1982-4. these guys had some connection with the auckland group the features. guitarist singer ljinon sharing a similar shard like guitar style and vocal approach to the features. the band had some sort of abstract art thing going and could either be really good or bloody awful depending on the night. they feature vince pinker on bass guitar, who later went on to be part of the resurrected gordons (sans alistair parker), and a few drummers. ‘eat shit’ was actually quite cool to watch live and i remember watching ljinon playing the guitar stabs in this song and slicing his fingers on the guitar strings, bleeding all over his guitars white scratch plate. at the end of the song he asked the bemused audience if anyone had a band aid. no one did.
picks in bold

  • no major releasesrn

enemy, the

at the tail end of the seventies the enemy played at our school dance. chris knox was the evilest person i’d seen. from the start i was dreading the moment he might come off the stage, and, like, tap me on the shoulder or something. i thought i was punk but inside i was cowering. thank god they only lasted two songs before school principal dave rathbone ran onto the stage and kicked them off.rn-shayne carter [taken from mysterex: kiwi punk and beyond #3]

first generation new zealand (pre-fame) super-group out of dunedin that later moved north to auckland and became

The Enright House

[flickr-photo:id=1081385107,size=t] [flickr-photo:id=494490829,size=t] The Enright House is the not quite pop, not quite post rock, brain-child of German born Mark Roberts.
The live band consists of Roberts along with Thomas Lambert on guitar (also of A Flight to Blackout), Simon Gemmill on Drums and Evan Schaare on synths.
picks in bold

  • Broken Hands EP [2006 A Low Hum HUM021]
  • A Low Hum Singles Club Issue 1 [2007 A Low Hum]
  • A Maze And Amazement LP [2007 A Low Hum HUM031] rn

Music Videos

David Edwards

wellington-based lo-fi homebrew musician releasing material under his own name (on his own fiffdimension mail order label, as well as