Drugs vs. Grandchildren

kez and shaun jury.
picks in bold

  • noise and fumes 7″ lathe-cut ep [dirtlove]
  • ‘gravity bleeds’/’a waste’/’the secret in the sea’ 7″ lathe-cut [dirtlove]
  • black eye staredown: ‘words are power’/’30 seconds remaining’ 7″ lathe-cut [dirtlove]
  • sick monks in a dirty room lathe-cut 12″ ep [1995 discordant axis]

The Drugs

this drugs 8″ is very odd. one side sounds like a drowsy, panadeine forte-dosed archers of loaf. it’s kind of in that slightly oblique american acoustic stroke-and-plume manner, addled with a typically wellington hint of ‘wuh?’. the other side of the record plugs the guitars in – recorded live, it’s the feelies drowning in a well of liquid valium. i’m listening to this record right now. god it’s good! i haven’t heard this in, literally, years. one guitarist keeps getting de-railed, like he’s watching a different band play and he’s trying to mimic their guitarists leads, unable to hear them
– from the now-defunct world of possibilities blog

picks in bold

  • ‘its all right ma’/va va voom’ 7″ lathe-cut single [hell on]
  • gas station lathe-cut 8″ [hell on]

Dread Beat and Blood

david grace, nana parata, alan huriwai, nathan rae, johnny tipuna, nathan warren, tam epiha, hope pohatu and gerald grace.


picks in bold

  • tribute to a friend [1985]


yuri frusin and helen johnstone (also both of garbage and the flowers). both members have since reunited with GATFs guitarist paul ling in the melbourne-based minit.


picks in bold

  • dress 10″ lathe-cut ep [hell on]

Dribbling Darts (of Love)


Matthew Bannisters’ post-Sneaky Feelings band, along with Alice Bulmer, Alan Gregg, and Ross Burge.

They later shortened the name to just the Dribbling Darts, and released 2 albums and 3 EPs – all on Flying Nun from 1990 through 1993.

Notable for their hugely catchy single ‘Hey Judith’.


  • Matthew Bannister (Guitar/Vocals, 1989 – 1993)
  • Alice Bulmer (Violin/Vocals/Keyboards, 1989 – 1993)
  • Alan Gregg (Bass/Vocals, 1989 – 1993)
  • Ross Burge (Drums, 1993)
  • Richard Foulkes Jr (Drums, 1989  – 1991)


  • Shoot 12″ EP [1990, Flying Nun, FN161]
  • Florid Dabblers Voting 12″ Ep [1991, Flying Nun, FN197]
  • Dribbling Darts Of Love [1991 Compilation, Flying Nun, FN213]
  • Present Perfect [1993, Flying Nun, FN247]
  • ‘Hey Judith CD Single [1993, Flying Nun, FN273]




john pitcairn, steven sinkovich and michael kwok. put out a self-titled album on flying nun in 1995.
picks in bold


The first lineup of Drone was formed in Auckland in early 1986 – members : Darryl Hocking , Dan Newnham, Gareth Farr and Rose Whitehead. Did a few gigs in Akld , Hamilton and New Plymouth – and released a 7″ ‘Land of the Free / The Farmers Song’ – own label. Gareth left at the end of 1986 and the other 3 continued. More gigs / tours all over NZ – released debut album on own label DDR, recorded The Fat Controller and left for gigs in the USA and Europe 1991. Settled in London – more gigs – got The Fat Controller released on QDK / Normal ( Germany ) – another 7″ on DDR ‘ Stravinsky / Cavern’ and an album on Freek Records. Final gig in London as DRONEnsemble, Jan 2000.

Darryl and Dan had played together before in Rome ( Tauranga 1982 – released one 7″ on their own label – ‘ A Collision / Authoritarian Mother / Jasna Gora ‘ – and supported Beat Rhythm Fashion over one weekend at the Taita Hotel , Lower Hutt, May 1982). Dan played in Chch. bands A Fragile Line and Crane 1983 – 84. Darryl’s project Snake Salvador and Drone stuff can be downloaded at – punchywah.com – Dan has a new project – Transcendental Learning Collective – demo at bandcamp – album finished and awaiting release. Art stuff can be seen at – djn.co.nz – also includes Drone details on the cv page.
– Dan Newnham

Discography (picks in bold)

  • Land Of The Free / The Farmers Song 7″ [1986 Ddr]

  • Drone [1989 Ddr1]

  • The Fat Controller Ep [1993 Q.D.K. Media Cd007]

  • Stravinsky / Cavern 7″ [1993 Ddr]


The Drongos

richard kennedy, jean and tony mcmaster and john mitchell.
picks in bold

  • the drongos ep [1985 wea]
  • small miracles [live recording 1985 proteus PROTE2]

Drowning Is Easy


Formative and short-lived Christchurch post-punk band featuring Ian Blenkinsop (Scorched Earth Policy, The McGoohans, Gas) and Mick Elborado (Scorched Earth Policy, The Terminals, King Loser, Palace of Wisdom etc) along with Craig Davison and Andrew Vallance.

Formed in early 1981, and split in late march 1982, originally leaving behind only a split 7″ EP left to document their brief existence.

However in 2014 German label Unwucht (who have also released recordings from the likes of Bill Direen and Ritchie Venus) put together a retrospective 7″ EP release compiling their 2 Tandem Studio recordings alongside 2 songs taken from a live at the Star and Garter pub in Christchurch, 1982.


  • Ian Blenkinsop (Guitar/Vocals, 1981 – 1982)
  • Mick Elborado (Bass/Vocals, 1981 – 1982)
  • Craig Davison (Drums/Vocals, 1981 – 1982)
  • Andrew Vallance (Keyboards, 1981 – 1982)


  • You Explode Me! Woman 7″ Split EP (1982, w/ Erich Zann and The Zeds, Tandem PR2012A)
  • Drowning Is Easy (2014, Unwucht, UN022)