The Black Seeds

wellington funky reggae/dub outfit comprised of shannon williams, barnaby weir, daniel weetman, rich christie, brett mckenzie, lee prebble, mikey fabulous and toby laing. released the brilliant single ‘keep on pushing’ in 2001, followed it with a solid debut of the same name, then a remix album that stretched their sound into dub and electronic directions. great live band, they’re part of wellingtons very strong dub and funk scene which blossomed out of venues like the matterhorn in the early 00s.
2003 saw the band becoming one of new zealand’s most popular live acts, and a big singles band too – with their sophmoric release selling in large numbers, and barnaby weir releasing a solo debut as flash harry. 2004’s on the sun saw the band moving in a funkier direction, dropping a lot of the dub vibe that graced their earlier live shows and the remix album.
picks in bold

  • keep on pushing [2001 loop]
  • pushed [remix album 2002 loop]
  • on the sun [2004 loop]

recommended songs
download from

  • keep on pushingrn
  • coming back homern
  • little atomsrn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *